Tomato rice

Prathima, my relative/friend shared with me this recipe. She is a good cook and patiently answers all my questions.

image_1

This is how I make this simple,  yummy one-pot dish.

  1. I soaked one cup of sona massoori rice for a little longer than an hour (I used the tall stainless steel glass of mine – not US cup )
  2. Then I finely chop onions, ginger, garlic, mint, cilantro, tomatoes. Make some tomato puree. You need little more than 2 1/4 cups of liquid. Use a combination of water and tomato puree. I made a single serve cup full of tomato puree ( just blended chopped tomatoes) and rest I used water.
  3. In a small pressure cooker, heat about a tsp of oil ,add black cardamom, star anise – just one each and few cumin seeds. Then add one halved green chili, onions , ginger, garlic. Cover and cook well. Dont let it burn. Then add chopped tomatoes, salt, 1/2 tsp each of turmeric powder, coriander powder, cumin powder, garam masala,1/4 tsp of chilli powder, 2 pinches of amchur powder, pinch of jaggery. Cover and cook for a while. Then add the liquid and drained rice and cover and let it come to a boil . When it boils, cover it and let it go for 2 whistles and turn it off. Garnish with mint and cilantro after you open.

Thanks Prathima. This has become one of our favorite meals.

PS I had long forgotten about mint. Jyothsna, a friend of mine reminded me of how it makes everything flavorful 🙂 Planning to get organic mint, cilantro plants.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tomato rice

Let me know your thoughts ...

