Lemon Rice

There are few recipes that you keep repeating at least once a week because all of your family loves it. Lemon rice is one such dish for us 🙂 I serve it with carrot or beet stir fry – will post recipes later.

Dhyan loves to eat it by himself. He even tolerates the bib ! Watch this youtube video – https://youtu.be/neQXpD13qc4

I buy organic sona masoori rice from Costco. I pressure cook it for 4 whistles. For 1 cup of rice I use 2 1/2  cups of water. I spread the rice and let it cool down.

Then I grind green chilies in a blender. I chop ginger, cilantro leaves.

In my stainless steel wok, I add unrefined avocado oil, lots of turmeric powder, hing, mustard seeds, chana dal, urad dal, cumin seeds, peanuts, cashews, curry leaves. I roast them all in a low flame – you dont want to burn them. After they roast well, I transfer some for Dhyan in a smaller stainless steel pan. In our pan I add 1 red chilli just for contrast :p , lots of ginger, green chillies, rice, salt, lemon juice, jaggery, cilantro and mix all well. In Dhyan’s pan, I add finely chopped few ginger pieces,  rice, salt, lemon juice, jaggery, cilantro mix all well.

I tried to compare using lime juice vs lemon juice. I couldn’t find much difference. Hubby prefers lemon juice though.

Fun mix-ins – garbanzo beans/peas/carrots/corn…

Enjoy!!!

One thought on “Lemon Rice

  1. Pingback: Simple Carrot Side dish | You are entering my Mind

Let me know your thoughts ...

